Day #4

Day #4 – Across Camp Lejeune, NC

What a great day once again. We were able to adjust the route providing us with a safer, quicker ride to Sneads Ferry. Went right across Camp Lejeune on Hwy 172. One phone call to the Provost Marshalls office and a very professional SSgt, serving as the Desk Sergeant, made it happen. While my teammates thought they would be seeing the Marines and Headquarters areas, they just enjoyed being “on base”. Even what little we saw, I quickly realized that that Lejeune has grown by leaps and bounds. We also got to see two V-22 Osprey operating in the Vic of “LZ Bluebird”.

The ride across base which constituted about 16 miles was a total group ride. Everyone stayed together. Mike and Cat and Joe Tonan allowed me to lead and it felt pretty good. What I can’t get over is how back in 1980 I would run from mainside to Onslow Beach without a second thought…and now, well the stairs sometimes even hurt. And that was how I found my way to the bike. Glad I did.

Tomorrow we go a straight 70 miles, hopefully with favorable winds. We are at Topsail Island for the night…a high end vacation spot. Funny thing but back in ’80 I had an opportunity to buy property down here. Of course didn’t…”woulda, coulda, shoulda” . OK…time to sleep. Get through tomorrow and we will be one day closer to completing this challenge as well as beating MS. Good night.

Leave a comment